This is difficult to admit but I can sometimes act like a know-it-all. It’s involuntary and an extension of my need to know it all. You see, I can’t imagine that you might not want to know it all so I have to share my knowledge with you. My husband A has gently pointed this out to me and since then I have caught myself doing it, often too late but sometimes before I really get going.

I’m worrying about this more lately for a few reasons. We’re moving to a new neighbourhood where we hope to be for a long time. I hope to make friends with neighbours, meet parents at the local parenting centre and library. And I don’t want to be that lady. The know-it-all. I’d like to strike a good first impression. Similarly I’ll be going back to work soon and a lot has changed in my year-long maternity leave. There have been a lot of staff changes and I am no longer the person who’s been there forever and knows all the history. I’ve missed a year (and a busy, eventful year at that) and I’m going to have to be prepared to listen and learn from others.

So, I’ve made a conscious decision to spare my friends, family, colleagues and acquaintances tidbits of my knowledge. Part of that means learning to be a better listener. As the old proverb goes: “We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.”

For better or worse I cannot imagine myself not continuing to devour information. I know you won’t find all the answers about parenting and decorating and household finances in books, blogs and magazines. In fact you’ll find lots of conflicting information, some false or outdated. But I still want to see it, to allow me to make informed decisions and to quench my ever present curiosity.

The difference of course is that I don’t have to share everything I’ve learned with anyone who will listen. Hopefully now that I’ve admitted I have a problem I will be able to make a change.